LABORATORY MEDICINE TEACHING CALENDAR - Medicine and Surgery F
Second semester 2021-22
The teaching classes will be held on Tuesday (11:00-13:00) and Friday (9,00-12,00) in classroom D - ex Officine Ortopediche
 
    Professor   Topics Lecture no.   day  
  Bellelli Metabolism of nucleotide bases. Hyperuricemias and assay of uric acid. #1 Fri, March 4  
  Bellelli Homeostasis of water and salts. #2 Tue, March 8  
  Bellelli Acid-base equilibrium. The hemogas analysis. Blood oxygen and lung function.#3 Fri, March 11  
  Bellelli The urea cycle. Assay of ammonia, urea, creatine and creatinine. Kidney function. #4 Tue, March 15  
  Bellelli Plasma proteins and lipoproteins: a summary. Enzymes in blood. Isoenzymes. Macroenzymes. Organ pathology. #16 Fri, March 18  
  Bellelli Biosynthesis of the heme and its defects; porphyrias. Assay of heme biosynthesis intermediates #5 Tue, March 22  
  Bellelli Heme catabolism; jaundice. Liver functions. #6 Fri, March 25  
  Angeloni Markers in neoplastic disorders. #7 Tue, March 29  
  Bellelli Glucose metabolism. Hyperglycemias and hypoglycemias. Diabetes mellitus. #8 Fri, April 1  
  Bellelli The endocrine system n.1: hypophysis. #9 Tue, April 5  
  Bellelli The endocrine system n.2: thyroid, adrenals, gonads. #10 Fri, April 8  
  Angeloni Markers to evaluate liver function. #11 Tue, April 12  
    Easter holidays   Fri, April 15  
    Easter holidays   Tue, April 19  
  La Rocca / Mainiero Transfusion Medicine. #12 Fri, April 22  
  La Rocca / Mainiero Histocompatibility testing and transplantation.#13 Tue, April 26  
  Angeloni Markers to evaluate heart pathophysiology. #14 Fri, April 29  
  Angeloni Evaluation of kidney function. #15 Tue, May 3  
  Bellelli Inborn errors of metabolism n.1: aminoacids. #16 Fri, May 6  
  Bellelli Inborn errors of metabolism n.2: aminoacids. #17 Tue, May 10  
  Bellelli Inborn errors of metabolism n.3: glycogenoses; lipidoses; metal accumulation. #18 Fri, May 13  
  Bellelli Hypervitaminoses and hypovitaminoses #19 Tue, May 17  
  Bellelli Standard blood tests and their clinical significance; laboratory findings in some common pathological conditions #20 Fri, May 20  
  Mainiero Acute phase proteins and complement.
Laboratory medicine of immune disorders. Allergic and autoimmune disorders.
#21 Tue, May 24  

Textbooks:
Michael Laposata: Laboratory Medicine: The Diagnosis of Disease in the Clinical Laboratory (LANGE Basic Science).
Henry's clinical diagnosis and management by laboratory methods. McPherson, Richard A; Pincus, Matthew R. Edition n. 23. St. Louis, Missouri, Elsevier, 2017.